Posted in Babies and Toddlers

Frugal Alternatives to Laminating

As a teacher, I know that laminating is AWESOME! It is permanent, it allows for things be preserved, and it makes it so the same printable can be used over and over again.

So what is the problem? For one thing, it gets expensive. When I am doing home school preschool with my son, I cannot afford to laminate all of his work pages that need it. Pages that, through natural interaction, get easily beaten up. Pages that, unless I want to make a TON of copies of it, can get a lot of repeated use.

For these pages, I have come up with a few alternatives:

Use plastic sheet protectors. Just remember that the higher quality of the sheet protector, the more use you will be able to get out of it.

Make use of an old binder that has a clear plastic sleeve. I cut off the front and the back of an old binder for this. The plastic is thick, and the backing helps provide some stability for your little one’s work.

Author:

I am a middle school teacher and a mother of two. I have always had a passion for education. As an educator, I know that the children who are the most successful students are those who have families who support their education at home.

Leave a Reply

