Posted in Activities for Babies and Toddlers, Babies and Toddlers, Sensory Play

Christmas Sensory Box 

Here are a few Christmas themed sensory bins I have made. This first one was the fist sensory bin I ever made. I thought the whole idea was kind of strange. I mean, I know that young children are easily entertained, but really? Boy was I wrong! 

T LOVED his bin. The idea is you give the tot a themed bin and some tools to help them explore it (tongs are a big hit, but cups and spoons work nicely as well), and they just go for it. It is unstructured play that encourages them to explore how they see fit. 

This bin contained the following: 

  • Cotton balls 
  • Mitten 
  • Bells 
  • Cookie cutter
  • Plastic ornaments 
  • Cinamon scented candle (for smell only) 
  • Red and green caps


    This second bin just has a red and green theme to it. I made it for my 10 month old, K, who is too young for tongs and also still puts EVERYTHING in her mouth. As you can see, it mainly contains different kinds of blocks. 

    A suggestion I have is to make a few of these bins, and use large tupperware to store them so that you can quickly and easily pull them out when needed. One bin can useually be pulled out a few times before your little one will start to get board with it. 

    Other fun Holiday themed items to put in your bin: 

    • Bows 
    • Ribbons 
    • Red and green pom poms 
    • Dreidle 
    • Toy snowflakes 
    • Most things in the holiday section of any Dollar Store 

      What are some ideas you have? Comment below! 

      Author:

      I am a middle school teacher and a mother of two. I have always had a passion for education. As an educator, I know that the children who are the most successful students are those who have families who support their education at home.

      Leave a Reply

      