Posted in Education, School Age Kids

Academic Skills Your Child Needs to Master ASAP (Elementary Years) 

Academic Skills Your Child Needs to Master ASAP Elementary

As a parent, it can be overwhelming trying to figure out what academic topics to focus on at home to help our children succeed.  Even more so if you’re a working and/or single parent. I have many friends who have struggled with this, and as a parent myself I understand the anxiety this may cause you.

Luckily, I am also an educator, so I have gained some insight on this topic over the years.

First of all, I will start out with telling you that ALL of the standards are important for your child’s education. These are just the bare minimum that you should make a priority for your child to master asap during their elementary school years in order to build a strong academic foundation.

  1. Your child needs to be reading at grade level (or above)
  2. They need to be able to write complete sentences. (Every year I have a few middle school students who STILL struggle with this.)
  3. Math facts. All of them (addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division), for 1 through 12. Multiplication and division are a common struggle.
Author:

I am a middle school teacher and a mother of two. I have always had a passion for education. As an educator, I know that the children who are the most successful students are those who have families who support their education at home.

Leave a Reply

