Posted in Busy Families

The Time Management Hack You NEED to Know!

The Time Management Hack You NEED to Know

“When God made time he made enough of it.” ~Irish Proverb 

This quote becomes my mantra on crazy busy days (so, pretty much ever day, haha!). I often feel like a chicken with its head cut off- running around  with too much to do and not enough time to do it in.

I found this AWESOME time management hack that some teachers often use with young students: the Must Do May Do list.

This is a to-do list that has everything prioritized. For my list I also add an “Eventually” column. The columns work like this:

Must Do: Theses are things that HAVE to get done TODAY. As in, there will be consequences if they do not get done today, example- pay your phone bill. Things on this list get done first.

May Do: These are also very important things that need to get done, but it’s okay if they can wait a few days to get done if need be. These things get done after the Must Do list is finished. 

Eventually: This list contains things you would like to get done, but they may not be super important at the moment. These things get done on the very rare occasion that you find that both your Must Do and your May Do list are done.

Must Do

It’s a good idea to make your Must Do May Do Eventually list either before bed or early in the morning so you can get started on getting things done asap. I also noticed that I felt a lot more productive with this list than the traditional to-do list, because even if not a lot of items got checked off I still got done a number of the super important must-do things that I had.

Try it out for a week before deciding for yourself, but I am sure this time management hack will help you feel more productive (and hopefully less stressed) each day!

Author:

I am a middle school teacher and a mother of two. I have always had a passion for education. As an educator, I know that the children who are the most successful students are those who have families who support their education at home.

Leave a Reply

