Posted in Activities for Babies and Toddlers, Babies and Toddlers, Sensory Play

Ocean Sensory Bin

Ocean Sensory Bin

I’ve got to be honest; my first thought about sensory bins was, “that looks boring…,” but boy was I wrong! I give T a sensory bin, and he’s good for a minimum of 15 minutes (that’s pretty good for a high-energy toddler).

As with any sensory bin, be sure to provide your child with some tools to explore it. Things that scoop are fun (toy plastic shovels, measuring cups, etc.), and tongs are a HUGE favorite tool for my son.

My son puts EVERYTHING in his mouth, so finding a safe base for his bins is always a challenge. This one has construction paper that has been cut with craft scissors to look like waves.

Other things I added to this bin: bath toy sea animals, sea shells, and large blue and white pom pom balls.

My favorite thing is that I can pull out the same bin for T to play with a few times before he gets bored of it.

Author:

I am a middle school teacher and a mother of two. I have always had a passion for education. As an educator, I know that the children who are the most successful students are those who have families who support their education at home.

Leave a Reply

